Read on
The European Biomass Conference & Exhibition EUBCE 2022 will be held this year in Marseille, France, in cooperation with CBE JU. On that occasion, the traditional Linneborn Prize will be awarded. Candidates can be nominated until 25 February.
Editorial office / Marseille

Johannes Linneborn (1899-1991) is a German chemical engineer and a pioneer in the use of biomass. He is known for his work on wood gasification, among other things. In 1994, the European Commission established the Linneborn Prize to honour individuals who have made outstanding scientific, technical or managerial achievements over a long period of time in the development of biomass energy.

Previous winners

Last year the prize went to Professor Juan Carrasco, former head of the biomass division of the Spanish Institute for Renewable Energy (CIEMAT) in Madrid. Carrasco was involved in many (inter)national biomass programmes and projects and achieved striking results throughout the bioenergy chain.

The prize has also been awarded several times to Dutch scientists. André Faaij (academic director Energy Academy Europe and distinguished professor at the University of Groningen) won it in 2015, Wim van Swaaij (TU Twente) in 2013 and Ton Beenackers (University of Groningen) in 2000.

Broader focus

Thanks to cooperation with the Circular Bio-based Europe Joint Undertaking (CBE JU), this year EUBCE’s focus has broadened from bioenergy to the use of biomass for bio-based products, which contribute in multiple ways to resource-efficient and sustainable low-carbon economies.

EUBCE will be held from 9 to 12 May 2022, and is planned to be a hybrid event, with a number of visitors in Marseille and the possibility of participation via an online platform. See the agenda for details.

Candidates for the Linneborn Prize can already be nominated via the website until Friday 25 February.